Time To Complete The Alphabet “Twitter” Style

This blog based on the alphabet must come to an end. It has been fun, challenging and very frustrating. I have so many thoughts in my head, but getting them on paper is so very difficult for me. In the future, I hope I can return to this blog with insight not afraid to censor my thoughts or words. That for me is the greater challenge for I still care what people think. Until I can shed that mantel, this blog will go into hibernation. I can assure you, however, that eventually some percolating thought will filter through and be put to the keys. (Hmmm…maybe I should try Twitter…..)

Retirement: not all it’s cracked up to be. Perks include my own sleep schedule, not having to venture out in inclement weather, being able to volunteer, more time to read or get online, watch tons of TV and nap with the kitties. However, I do spend a lot of time alone which brings out my insecurities about, well, everything!

Savor: everything! Food, drink, family, friends, laughter, sleep, birds, clouds, stars, kitty purrs and cuddles, naps, sunlight, rain, even snow! Savor life – it’s precious and short!

Travel: should have traveled when I was younger. It would be wonderful to do more now in retirement, but that takes money plus I don’t travel alone very well. I envy my retired friends who pick up on a whim and go where their hearts lead them. Remember what I said earlier about insecurities?

Unknown: fear and awe. Actually, terrified of the unknown regarding death. While I have a sense that there might be a greater source than myself in this world, I cannot find the faith that there is a “heaven”. However, the unknown in the universe itself is fascinating. Just look at the stars and the planets – surely there is more out there than just us mere mortals spinning about on this sphere called Earth.

Vaccinate: just do it! Have your kids vaccinated and adults, follow up with your vaccinations. Science and very smart people have provided us with the tools to keep us safe and healthy. Yes, there will be those who shouldn’t have the vaccinations, but their health relies on us being vigilant. Off my soap box now!

Weight: forget it! I will never be slim. I experimented with all the crazy diets and fads in my youth. Never succeeded. I know when I’ve eaten poorly or made bad choices in what I have consumed. My body tells me in no uncertain terms. Would I like to weigh less? Certainly. Have I mentioned “insecurities”? However, at this stage in life, food is comfort and joy – moderation is the key!

Xmas: hate this abbreviation. Not for religious reasons. I just think the word “Christmas” is beautiful, and it deserves to be treated as such. I feel warm and peaceful when I here the word spoken or see it written. Even in July!

Yawn: even if I am not tired, when someone yawns especially in close quarters (like a car), I will yawn. It is frightfully contagious!

Zest: for life, not a peel from a citrus fruit. However, adding zest to food is like adding zest to life. It is flavoring that adds a keen enjoyment. I hope I never lose my zest for living, for loving and for eating!

Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it.”
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

Leave a comment