LAZY – Moi?

DSCN0479

Here is what Webster has to say about the word LAZY: “idle, apathetic, inactive, slothful, slow”. I’ll admit it in print right now – I am lazy! Not slovenly lazy where I don’t wash or change clothes for days, but each day I have a number of lazy moments where I choose not to do something or be somewhere. Retirement has awakened me to the pleasure of being lazy, not feeling guilty when I am, and adding a different level of joy to my life!

As an adult, I’ve always been on the run. I wasn’t raised to be lazy. So the raising of my children, keeping house, church involvement, volunteering and even hobbies kept me busy. No slacking off for this chick. If I let one thing go unattended, a domino effect would occur. In my eyes, life became messy which left me feeling inadequate, stressed and like a failure. The divorce left my life very messy so I strived even harder to never be even the tiniest bit lazy – full time job where I worked tirelessly to prove I was good enough and outside activities to keep me busy. It was exhausting!

I think I started realizing that “lazy moments” were necessary for my well being when I turned 50 and spent my birthday with a dear friend in Florida. While our days were jammed packed with activities, we spent moments sipping wine, eating out, laughing and doing absolutely nothing earth shatteringly important. Once home, I started looking at my job and life a bit differently. No major changes at first, but I tried to feel less guilt when I chose a bit of lazy time for myself.

Since retiring, I am able to lazily drift through my days. I choose what I want to do and when to do it. I tackle the usual tasks – cleaning, laundry, shopping – at a slower pace, resting often. The bed is always made, the litter boxes always cleaned, dishes never in the sink longer than a couple of hours, toilets scrubbed, cats fed and bills paid (on time I might add). I am a TV and internet addict so I allow myself lots of “lazy” in my comfy chair with my cats sitting on or near me. I choose my “lazy moments”, scattering them through my days. I make time for visits with friends and family, to have guests in my home, to tackle projects, to attend exercise classes, to clean house (ugh) and all the wonderful (and some not so wonderful) things I am able to do each day. The gift of “lazy” is that I don’t ever have to feel forced into anything. I can gradually, slowly take on each day and not feel guilty if I was more “lazy” that day then productive. My heart rate is slower, I’m less stressed, I smile more.

My advice to the “young-ins” in my life: start finding your “lazy” now. Don’t go off the deep end by being “slothful, indolent, or neglectful” – words that describe lazy for most people. Just slow down, choose when to “get it done” and when to be idle. You’ll find that a little bit of “lazy” will energize and renew your body and mind, so that your productivity and creativity will soar.

IMG_0437

Leave a Reply

